Wishlist for DAVE, the form, and for XMC4500 series

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Not applicable
Hi
I hope you don't mind, but as I'm new to this particular forum, XMC4500, and DAVE, I have become aware of several things that would help me a lot to get up to speed. My particular interests are:
SPI, IIS, UART, Note: I am using SPI devices that require the chip select be inactive between each write, i.e. the word and frame size are both 16 bit.
with and without DMA (only for DMA IIS read - I note there threads on DAVE forum so will be looking more deeply into them),
with and without using FIFO, FFT.

I'm struggling to determine:
* How to use FIFO with SPI write - the DAVE set-up seems straightforward, but the resulting output provides no clue as to how to operate;
* What style to use (full duplex/ half duplex - I'm only interested in writing to the devices to set them up/change and don't wish to read);
* How do I know the FIFO and the SPI have both completed (i.e. FIFO empty, and SPI finished) so I can load another set of commands;
* How to I control two SPI devices on one SPI port, especially with a FIFO involved. This looks to be impossible without ensuring all SPI messages for a device are completed so that the chip select can be changed - the XMC4500 reference manual hints that FIFO frame by frame chip can be achieved, but it is not clear how;

So here is the wishlist:
1) DAVE examples could do with more variety (c.f. as noted above) and have additional documentation explaining the principle of operation;
2) DAVE postings could benefit from being broken down into sub groups: DAVE bugs, DAVE how to's, DAVE requests for change, (any more?);