CYBT-213043-MESH WICED Mesh Models Help

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
JoBo_4364091
Level 1
Level 1
First question asked First reply posted

Hello All,

I am fairly new to Modus Toolbox and the WICED framework so I am still getting used to its many forms and functions, especially regarding the new Bluetooth Mesh implementation. I have done a lot of digging around in the code, experimentation and have watched the getting started videos but even now I am finding the framework quite hard to get on with and I was wondering if someone could shine some light on it for me.

To give a quick overview, I am experimenting with the CYBT-213043-MESH kit which is a set of four development boards centred around Cypress's CYBT-213043-02 Bluetooth PSoC module. I want to eventually use these boards and their integrated sensors to share information with each-other, cache any recent network data locally and compare each respective node status against the others on the network.

I have scrolled through a lot of the example code, including the many libraries on GitHub but can’t seem to find a solution that suits my requirements. It seems a lot of the Bluetooth Mesh functionality is tied to these predefined mesh “models” which I am finding to be a bit restricting. I have found the level server/client to be somewhat close to what I need and this is what I have been basing my code on but it is missing some details.

I spend a fair amount of time experimenting with the CANBUS network architecture which handles mesh networking very well, where the node simply specifies its unique ID, message length and data bytes when sending messages out on the network. It would be great if I could do something similar in Bluetooth Mesh but I haven’t seen any examples of a simple raw data client/server model that I can use.