Unable to perform software reset in TC367

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
varunr_4926966
Level 1
Level 1
5 sign-ins First reply posted First like given

Hello,

I am using Aurix TC367 for a motor drive application. The memory is divided to 3 partitions. 1) Boot Manager 2) Bootloader and 3) Application.  During a power ON reset, Boot Manager will be in control and it decides to jump to application or bootloader. I did the initial development using the TC397 development board. I tested the jump from Bootmanager to Bootloader and Application successfully.

Everything seems to work properly but when I perform a software reset from the bootloader using the instruction MODULE_SCU.SWRSTCON.B.SWRSTREQ = 1; the software ends up in a trap. 

What could be the reason for this behavior. Please note that I am attempting the reset from the Bootloader where control reaches bootloader from boot manager. I am fairly new to this microcontroller, my doubt is do we need to perform any steps before jumping to a different image, in this case, a jump from boot manager to bootloader. I know that in ARM Cortex series, we need to initialize the stack and vectors before jumping. Do we need to do any kind of stuff in this microcontoller. Please help,

BR,

Varun

0 Likes
3 Replies
Nambi
50 likes received 5 likes given 100 solutions authored

Hi,

1. You can refer to the ADS example "CPU_Trap_Recognition_1_KIT_TC397_TFT"  to find the details of the TRAP encountered at your end.

2. You can check if the access mode "SV,E,P0" for the register SWRSTCON is followed when writing to it.

3. What is the value of the bit "RSTCON.SW"? You can try configuring different values like Application reset and System reset and let us know the observation.

4. Are you testing with or without a debugger?
If testing with the debugger, you can trigger a conditional reset(e.g., Trigger reset on a pin press) and test without the debugger and check.