SPI DMA Master - Slave Data Exchange of length more than 16bytes

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
User22868
Level 2
Level 2
50 sign-ins 5 questions asked 10 replies posted

Good Morning,

I am working on TC3x4T board for my project in which I would like to use two QSPI modules. One as MASTER and the other as SLAVE.  My goal is to have a periodic (e.g.: every 10ms) data exchange between Master and Slave of data length of 64bytes. And I would like to use DMA for this data exchange to minimize the cpu intervention. And I would like to trigger DMA via software (i.e. For example..I do not want to use Hardware trigger via Timer interrupt). 

I am new to both QSPI and DMA. I know QSPI FIFO has 4 x 32-bit buffers which would be 16bytes.

So, as a first step, using just one QSPI module as MASTER in Loop back mode,  I tried below combination to transmit 16bytes of data and check my Rx buffer (in RAM) is receiving the data that MASTER transmit. And it seems to be working or atleast I can see the data transmitted is being updated to RAM Buffer via loop back mode.

Here is what I did

1) Initialize one of my QPSI module as MASTER in Loop Back Mode with Transmission mode set to Short (DL = 31, BYTE = 0, LAST = 1)

2) Initialize DMA Channel #1 for MASTER Transmission with Source Address set to RAM buffer, Destination Address set to QSPI_DATAENTRY0 and by using Single transaction with 4 Transfers (each Transfer with one 32-bit move)

3) Initialize DMA Channel #2 for MASTER Reception with Source Address set to QSPI_DATAEXIT, Destination Address set to RAM buffer and by using Single transaction with 4 Transfers (each Transfer with one 32-bit move)

4) Enable the DMA channels for Tx and Rx in my periodic runnable based on TX/RX FIFO status.

I am attaching my code here (SPI_COM.c).

I have couple of questions regarding my project.