Memory Protection

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
User19909
Level 3
Level 3
First like received
Hello, Its my first time to work with memory protection concept so excuse my questions if you see them intuitive.
1-Once memory protection is enabled this means that all memory is restricted unless i explicitly grant access to a memory region, correct?
2-Should the OS master core system application be granted access rights to all shared memory regions even on the other cores' MPU regions or its not relevant and each core should be the only core getting access to its regions
3-I am using TC37x which is a tricore architecture, I created 6 memory regions as a prototype and granted access to the whole memory address space,first 3 regions are for codes, in the core0 code mpu and gave access to core0 application protection sets, same goes to core1,cor2
second 3rd regions have the same whole address space but for data mpus, just to observe the mpu working, however it didn't I am just stuck at OS_Barrier.c it seems the OS is not happy with my configurations, but the MPU trap bit in DSTR is not raised. so it seems it is not a protection violation but rather something different, any insights?
4-What is the difference between Os system applications and OS applications

Thank you!
0 Likes
7 Replies
Darren_Galpin
Employee
Employee
First solution authored First like received
When you are talking about memory, are you talking about the PFlash attached to each CPU, or are you also talking about other memory areas?

Are any other traps set? Is there anything in the error registers in the XBAR?
0 Likes
User19909
Level 3
Level 3
First like received
For code MPUs I granted access to flash and psprs, is there a flash attached to each CPU? Isn't it one physical flash? .for data mpus i granted access to the whole address space starting from 0x00000000 to 0xFFFFFFFF, no traps are set in the DSTR, The XBAR has no errors as well.